Sunday, October 7, 2018

The Minstral Show – (Episode 058)

Welcome to Episode 58 of the Minstral Show!

We have three very engaging sets of music on today’s program, that covers an array of genres for free thinking and progressive minds featuring; Sea Pinks, The People, Southbound Snake Charmers, La Resistance, Matthew Perryman Jones, Miss Mobile Home, Wobbler, Fables, Midday Veil and James Yuill.

More than just a podcast, World United Music has emerged to bring you the best music being made in the 21st century by signed, unsigned and Independent artists.

To all the Artists, be sure to share the podcast episode with your network as it helps bring attention not only to your work but to the work of others as well. That's what the “World United Music” project is all about, bringing attention to all the artists who make great music.

SET: 01

Starting off today’s show is Belfast Northern Ireland’s “Sea Pinks” with “I Don’t Feel Like Giving In” taken from their January 2016 album “Soft Days”.

A great album by the way that evolves in the progression of 80’s New Wave Pop with a few surprises. Band Members: Neil Brogan, Davey Agnew and Steven Henry, deliver attitude on Soft Days.

Following the Sea Pinks is US band “The People” with “Gone” a song taken from their self titled debut EP “The People”

“Gone” is a rockin blues tune with driving energy and attitude by Band members Steve Irribarra, Eric Ivener, Nick D'Itri and Chad Swanson. Good rockin sounds by The People.

Following The people is Australia’s “Southbound Snake Charmers” with “Moonshine Runners Blues” taken from their January 2016 - 5 song EP “Voodoo Chicken Shack”. Here’s an Infectious rockin’ Blues tune with attitude, packed with high energy that’ll certainly get your day moving. Lot’s of great music by this band on Bandcamp. So, go…check them out.

Closing the set is Birmingham Alabama Band “La Resistance” with “Head On”, a Jesus and Mary Chain cover to keep the energy flowing.

The song was released in 2011 on an EP of cover songs called “The Candidate” which consisted of 5 songs that influenced the band from the 80’s New Wave / Brit Pop era.

I Love the way Greg Summerlin, Randle Scruggs, Mischa Jordy and Wil Drake bang this one out…great solid rock n roll to close the set.

And so, the Sea Pinks, The People, Southbound Snake Charmers and La Resistance serve up energy, attitude and drive on The Minstral Show.

SET: 02

From Nashville Tennessee, Matthew Perryman Jones starts off the second set with “Happy” taken from his latest album “The Waking Hours” released in October 2018.

Matthew creates an ambiance of reflective thought through soul searching lyric and comforting tones to strike a common chord with the listener. The song asks us to look within and analyse why, when we have everything we need, why can’t we be happy…a powerful song by a great artist….Matthew Perryman Jones.

Following Matthew is Chris Stoddard and Samantha Ritter who are Miss Mobil Home, a Dream pop/shoegaze duo from New York, NY with their song “Fine Machine” taken from their June 2016 album “Glimmer Down”.

I find Dream Pop to be very soothing with a mysterious ambiance which puts me into a comforting reflective mood, made even more so by the poetic lyrics of this song. Very enjoyable music.

From Oslo Norway, Wobbler follows with “Foxlight” taken from their October 2017 album “From Silence to Somewhere”.

“Foxlight” captures the journey of the human spirit in isolation through the body’s physical death and the spirits resurrection in consciousness to embrace moments of clarity when the burdens and lies of empire are all purged from the mind…this is truly a masterpiece that reminds me of some of the best Progressive Rock Bands of the Late 60’s and early 70’s such as “YES” “Gentle Giant” “Genesis”, “Jethro Tull” and others that defined those times. From Silence to Somewhere is truly a must have album for progressive rock fans.

And so, another great set of progressive and reflective music to sooth your mind and soul on The Minstral Show.

SET: 03

Starting off our final set is Sydney Australia’s “Fables” with “Sherekhan” a single from their forth coming album.

Sherekhan is a hypnotic song with a haunting edge that borders the twilight of dreams and nightmares...a very progressive track from an album I am waiting patiently for. Good stuff.

From Seattle Washington, Midday Veil follows with “Empire is No More” taken from their 2015 album “This Wilderness”. The beginning of this song reminds me of the music that plays on The Legend of Zelda – Twilight Princess when the shadow world appears…the song is truly enthralling especially in these surreal times of declining empires…it’s also worth noting that with the fall of empires, comes a sobering reality in the aftermath, when all the illusions fade away…a very captivating song to be sure.

James Yuill closes the set with “Kings Come of Noethinge” an unreleased song that didn’t make it onto his July 2017 album “A Change in State” but it is available in a six song package for a limited time for anyone who joins James mailing list. Personally, I think this song is brilliant which is why I’m sharing it with you here…hey, it’s also a good reason why one should sign up to an artists official website as I suggest at the end of every show.

Be sure to support the artists by going to their official websites, buying their music and joining their email platforms. Details are in the episode description.

And so, the dream is always the same in the twilight hours, a place where artists play and music is born and then put together here, on the Minstral Show…see you next week everybody.

The Minstral Show – (Episode 058)


SET 01
Sea Pinks – I Don’t Feel Like Giving In
The People – Gone
Southbound Snake Charmers – Moonshine Runner’s Blues
La Resistance – Head On

SET 02
Matthew Perryman Jones – Happy
Miss Mobile Home – Fine Machine
Wobbler - Foxlight

SET 03
Fables – Sherekhan
Midday Veil – Empire is No More
James Yuill – Kings Come of Noethinge


Be sure to support the artists by going to their official websites, buying their music and joining their email platforms. (See Details below.)


The World United Music Podcast was carried on 11 different platforms including Anchor FM, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Pocket Casts, Radio Public, Castbox, Breaker, Google Podcasts, Overcast, PodBean and of course on our World United Music Blog. You can still find the show on Breaker & PodBean linked below. Hey, “Catch the Wave!”

Catch the Wave!

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Best Music of 2021

World United Music Promotions

Progressive Rock – (2015 to 2019)

Progressive Rock – (2020 to 2021)

Rhythm and Blues – (2000 to 2019)

Psychedelic, Alternative, New Wave, Dark Wave – (2000 to 2019)

Psychedelic, Alternative, New Wave, Dark Wave – (2020 to 2029)

Rock, Alternative - (2010 to 2019)

Rock, Alternative – (2020 to 2021)

Soft Rock, Lite Rock, Alternative – (2010 to 2019)

Soft Rock, Lite Rock, Alternative – (2020 to 2021)

Pop Rock – (2000 to 2019)

Pop Rock - (2020 to 2021)

Folk Rock, Acoustic – (2010 to 2019)

Folk Rock, Acoustic – (2020 to 2021)

Hard Rock, Heavy Metal – (2000 to 2019)

Punk Rock, High Energy Rock n Roll – (2000 to 2019)

Southern Rock, Alt Country – (2000 to 2019)

Classic, New Age Classic

New Age Alternative

Ambient, Electronic, Relaxation

Music for the Revolutionary Mind